Civil National Security Services

Act X of 1990 authorised the Government to regulate the tasks and operation of the national security services in a decree until passing a National Security Act. The Council of Ministers performed this authorisation by passing Decree 26/1990 (14 February) on the provisional regulation of national security tasks, defining the structure of the national security services and the respective tasks of the services.

Two civil and two military services were created 1 March 1990: the Information Office (IO) responsible for civil intelligence, the National Security Office (NSO) responsible for constitution protection, counter-intelligence, counter-terrorism, economic security, etc.; and the Military Intelligence Office (MIO) along with the Military Security Office (MSO).

The operation and structure of the institutional system of Hungarian secret services was significantly changed by Act CXXV of 1995 on the National Security Services (hereinafter: National Security Act), which replaced the previous provisional regulation to create a set of constitutional criteria for the operation of the services. The NSO units executing the technical tasks of clandestine intelligence gathering seceded, which gave rise to the Special Service of National Security (SSNS), as the fifth member of the Hungarian intelligence community.